A Year Gone.. A Year Started

goodbye-2014-and-hello-2015I normally, as every person does, once in a while sit back and take stock of how the past has been. Now this could be a range of a month, a quarter, but more normally a year is what I do believe that many as a standard follow. Of course, there are a whole many, who look forward and not on the days gone by, as one would rightly say, looking ahead.

As I recollect the year, I do wonder what have I gained, what have I lost. Starting with the loss, it was my Grandmother who decided that life on Earth was enough and decided to head into a more peaceful world. It was indeed a sad moment, but the fact that she lived a good fruitful life of Nine Decades, was some comfort that she had gone through the best part of her life with kids, Grandchildren and Great Grandchildren all around her. How many of us, today, I could not but help think, would have that opportunity.

Fate it seemed, had dealt a harsh blow at the start of the year, who knew that the close of the year would see a couple more near and dear ones also deciding to call it a day. No doubt, matters such as arrivals and departures are not in the hands of mere mortals, and life simply being an airport, arrivals and departures do cause joy and grief. That is part and parcel of life, I would guess.

2014 also made me achieve a long-standing dream and started back a passion that had left off for long.

The first for me was to have my own website, that had always dreamt of starting, but never did out of laziness. The start not only completed a long overdue wish, but it also reignited the passion of writing and reactivating my Blog site which had neglected for long.

Second, my hobby of photography, which in simple words, was enriching. It not only took me into another world, but also gave me the opportunity to meet people, visit places, giving life a new impetus. Time consuming no doubt, but the thrill of getting up early in the morning just to take a great shot cannot be described.

The end of the year also saw me reuniting with near and dear ones, that I had not met in years, the thrill of seeing new generations for the first time and meeting grown up kids, who you simply recall as being pony tailed, or having a runny nose standing next to you, meeting eye to eye.. Simply cannot be described.

There are no doubt many small thrills and gains that one goes through the years, but it is at times, a single element that makes an entire life time memorable. 2015, no doubt will have new surprises in store, new challenges, new beginnings, however it is the old endings that always leave a sweet taste in one’s mouth. One does have to swallow a bitter pill at times, however I believe, it is the sweet candy, no matter how small, that one carries in his memories for life.

A year had gone by.. A new year has come.. This too will go away, but what the unknown holds for us, is what keeps us looking forward to a new year, year after year.

Happy 2015…

About asarpota

Like to fly, but at the same time, quite on the ground, and do tend to be realistic. Very passionate about what I believe in and do, no patience with idiots, not a perfectionist, but trying to come close to it.... Not a nerd btw, value my friends very much, can criticize and have the b***s to take it on my chin. A spade is a spade!!!
This entry was posted in Random Notes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Year Gone.. A Year Started

  1. indrani says:

    Happy 2015!
    Lucky you to have your grand mother’s company for so long! May she rest in peace!

    Like

Leave a Reply

